Crocodile Puppet

Grace is in love with Crocodiles!  She loves to play “chase” with her Papa as the crocodile, she loves Peter Pan’s crocodile, and she loves the ‘snap snap’ noise they make (with arms extended doing the jaw movement).  When I saw a dragon puppet on Pinterest, I knew I needed to make her a crocodile puppet!

Here is is!

ImageImage

Here is my inspiration: http://silvercharmster.wordpress.com/2008/10/08/am-i-a-designer/

I used Red Heart yarn, and an F hook.  I was surprised that it was so small, but in retrospect, I’m very glad that it is the perfect size for Grace’s 3 year old hand!  As you can see, she loved eating her mama’s arm (and everyone else’s arm)!

I followed the directions through most of the puppet, except for the eyes, and I deleted the ears.  For the eyes, I made two as follows:

Make a magic ring.  ch3.  Make 5 DC in ring.  Tighten ring and join in the top of the CH3.

2SC in each stitch around.  (12)  Join with slip stitch

2SC in first stitch, 1sc in next stitch.  Repeat around and join. (18)

2SC in first stitch, 1SC in next 2 stitches.  Repeat around and join. (24).

Leave a long tail, and thread it onto a yarn needle.  Sew around the circle, in one stitch and out the next, to create a “basting” stitch.  Pull the thread to form a ball, stuffing it tightly with fiberfill (or batting scraps).  Fasten off, leaving the tail to sew onto the puppet.  Cut a felt circle and whip stitch to the ball for the pupil.  Sew the eyes to the puppet.

Leave a comment